Children's literature

Secret of the Hidden Scrolls Books 5 & 6 {Review}

We require our children to read at least an hour a day on their own before they can call it quits for our school day. For the readers in the house, this doesn’t pose a problem, they can get lost in a book and we won’t see them for hours, but for the ones that don’t enjoy reading so much… it’s a loooong one hour. One of the reasons I enjoy book reviews is because we are always trying to find good quality literature to get them excited about reading. This year we have had the opportunity to review some really great ones. We have been reading Secret of the Hidden Scrolls: The Shepherd’s Stone (Book 5) and Secret of the Hidden Scrolls: The Lion’s Roar (Book 6) from WorthyKids Books over the course of the past few weeks and have really enjoyed the adventure. 

Children's literature

The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls is a 7-book series that helps bring the Bible to life for children ages 6-9. These are

Secret in the Hidden Scrolls: The Shepherd’s Stone (Book 5) 

This story is taken from the book of 1 Samuel. Peter, Mary and their dog Hank find themselves traveling back in time to the town of Bethlehem where they meet young David. They follow along with David while he meets and ends up  fighting Goliath. We see David in the epic battle fighting for the Glory of God, trusting that he can do anything with God on his side.

Secret in the Hidden Scrolls: The Lion’s Roar (Book 6) 

Book 6 takes us back in time to Babylon where our trio of characters are introduced to the High priest who has told them that they must bow down to an idol. After they refuse they find themselves in a harrowing situation with the High Priest, where they must escape. Along the way they meet Daniel from the Lions den and Hannah the granddaughter of Shadrach and learn that God can be trusted.

My eleven year old wrote a review:

“I thought the two books The Shepherds Stone and the Lions Roar was really good! It involved God and shared a lot about him. It showed how God is fighting a battle against Satan, and how our God is winning. But the best part is that there are these two kids and a dog who finds a better understanding of God and learns to trust him. All while having fun solving the secret of the hidden scrolls! It is an adventurous book with friends to help along the way, and a God who loves us. Thank you so much for letting me read these books!” ~Olivia age 11

Worthy Kids


I love it when fiction stories help bring the bible to life. M.J. Thomas does a fantastic job of creating stories that make you want to keep reading. The writing is easy to read and the pages are short. This is important for the less enthusiastic readers in our house. I also like how the end of each book there is a list of additional resources or bible readings so that the reader can go look the story up for themselves.


Would you LOVE the chance to win all 7 books in the series? Click the graphic below to get entered into the drawing!


Check out what other reviewers thought about these books by clicking the graphic below:

Secret of the Hidden Scrolls: The Shepherd's Stone (Book 5) & The Lion's Roar (Book 6) {WorthyKids Books Reviews}
You can find Worth Kids online @
Check out the other fantastic reviews that I have done by clicking here: 
Crew Disclaimer

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.